How to share your Google Calendar

Follow these easy steps to share your Google Calendar with family, friends or team members

A screenshot of Google Calendar scheduling tool

Upon its general release in 2009, Google Calendar quickly became one of the most popular apps for managing and scheduling events. However, during the pandemic, it has also become an invaluable tool for time management, collaboration, and even communication – especially the virtual kind. Thanks to its useful integration with Google Meet, users can set up a video call while scheduling an event in Calendar.

After all, with remote working still being the status quo at many organisations, it might be challenging to keep tabs on what everyone is up to, especially for employers who don't use staff monitoring tools. The unawareness of a colleague's plans, tasks, and whereabouts might lead to a number of complications within the team, from overscheduling to productivity issues, and even a breakdown of trust.

However, there's one simple solution to help ensure that your coworkers are up to date with what you're currently working on. By opting to share your Google Calendar, you can choose who gets to see your plans, whether it's just your manager, your team, or even the entire organisation. In fact, this might be an option which will translate to your personal life, in order to make it easier to organise family plans and friend meetups.

However, your Google Calendar is, first and foremost, an invaluable office tool, and sharing it is likely to transform the way you and your colleagues communicate and collaborate – especially when working miles away from each other. This is why we've compiled a quick guide that will help you choose and implement the best calendar-sharing options.

How to share your Google Calendar with someone

If you're ready to share your Google Calendar with an individual, it takes just a couple of minutes and a few clicks. Here's how it works:

1. Navigate to calendar.google.com to open your Google Calendar. Google doesn't allow you to share calendars from within the Google Calendar app. 

2. Find the "My calendars" section on the left-hand side of the Google Calendar site. 

3. Hover your cursor over the calendar you'd like to share and click the three vertical dots to the right of it. 

4. Click "Settings and sharing."

5. Click "Access permissions" on the left-hand side of the screen 

6. Find "Share with specific people" and click "Add people" just below it.

7. Add the person or their email address and use the dropdown menu to determine their permissions.

8. Click "Send."

9. The recipient will then click the emailed link and add your calendar to their list.

How to share your Google Calendar with your team

In a team setting, a shared Google Calendar makes organizing events and tracking meetings easier than ever. Check it out:

1. Open a browser and navigate to calendar.google.com to open Google Calendar.

2. Find the "My calendars" section on the left-hand side of your screen. 

3. Hover your cursor over the calendar you'd like to share with your team and click the three vertical dots on the right of it. 

4. Click  "Settings and sharing."

5. Click "Access permissions" on the left-hand side of the screen 

6. To share your Google Calendar with your team, add each team member's email addresses and use the dropdown menu to determine their permissions.

7. After adding all team members, click "Send."

If you want to share a calendar with a larger team, start by making a Google Group, which allows you to easily share your calendar with your team and manage permissions accordingly. 

To share with a group, simply follow the steps above and enter the Google Group title in place of the individual's email address.

What's nice about Google Groups is if a member leaves the group, they'll automatically lose access to your calendar without you manually adjusting permissions for that individual. 

How to delegate your Google Calendar to someone

Google Calendar also allows you to give others full permission to administer your calendar. While having someone else manage your calendar might sound dreamy, we don't recommend granting full permission to many people or groups. 

To delegate your Google Calendar to someone else, follow these simple steps:

1. Navigate to calendar.google.com to open Google Calendar and find the "My Calendars" section on the left-hand side.

2. Hover your cursor over the calendar you want to delegate, then click the three vertical dots to the right

3. Click "Settings and sharing."

4. Click on "Share with specific people" on the left, then click "Add people."

5. Enter your new delegate's email address and select "Make changes and manage sharing" from the dropdown menu on the right.

6. Click "Send."

How to make your Google Calendar public

For many, making their calendar public is the easiest option. Fortunately, Google makes doing this remarkably easy. Simply follow the steps below to make your Google Calendar public to all:

1. Navigate to calendar.google.com to open Google Calendar and find the "My Calendars" section on the left-hand side.

2. Hover your cursor over the calendar you want to make public, then click the three vertical dots to the right

3. Click "Settings and sharing."

4. Click "Access Permissions."

5. Click the "Make available to public" checkbox and choose the permissions from the dropbox on the right.

How to unshare your Google Calendar

If you've shared your calendar with someone but no longer want them to have access to it, you can unshare it too. Follow these steps to unshare your Google Calendar with a person or group:

1. Navigate to calendar.google.com to open Google Calendar and find the "My Calendars" section on the left-hand side.

2. Hover your cursor over the calendar you want to unshare, then click the three vertical dots to the right

3. Click "Settings and sharing."

4. Click "Access Permissions."

5. If you've set your calendar to be publically available, uncheck the "Make available to public" checkbox.

6. To stop sharing your calendar with a specific person, click "Share with specific people" on the right, find the user or group you'd like to remove and click the "X" next to them.

7. If you share multiple calendars with an individual or group, repeat the above steps for any other calendars you want to stop sharing.

Featured Resources

How virtual desktop infrastructure enables digital transformation

Challenges and benefits of VDI

Free download

The Okta digital trust index

Exploring the human edge of trust

Free download

Optimising workload placement in your hybrid cloud

Deliver increased IT agility with the cloud

Free Download

Modernise endpoint protection and leave your legacy challenges behind

The risk of keeping your legacy endpoint security tools

Download now

Recommended

Google banned from importing patent-infringing tech following Sonos IP victory
Policy & legislation

Google banned from importing patent-infringing tech following Sonos IP victory

7 Jan 2022
Google, Facebook fined €210 million for making it difficult for users to reject cookies
Policy & legislation

Google, Facebook fined €210 million for making it difficult for users to reject cookies

6 Jan 2022
Google is working with leading PC manufacturers to improve Android on Windows
Google Android

Google is working with leading PC manufacturers to improve Android on Windows

6 Jan 2022
Google Cloud acquires Israeli security startup Siemplify
cloud security

Google Cloud acquires Israeli security startup Siemplify

5 Jan 2022

Most Popular

How to move Microsoft's Windows 11 from a hard drive to an SSD
Microsoft Windows

How to move Microsoft's Windows 11 from a hard drive to an SSD

4 Jan 2022
How to boot Windows 11 in Safe Mode
Microsoft Windows

How to boot Windows 11 in Safe Mode

6 Jan 2022
Microsoft Exchange servers break thanks to 'Y2K22' bug
email delivery

Microsoft Exchange servers break thanks to 'Y2K22' bug

4 Jan 2022