What is the ITIL certification and why do you need it?

Find out how to improve your IT infrastructure through this certification

It's one thing to learn about IT, but it's another to understand how that skill or knowledge can impact your organisation. For individuals looking to know more, Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) can help.

ITIL is a set of practices for Information Technology Service Management (ITSM), part of the AXELOS portfolio of certifications. These also include PRINCE2 and Redilia.

Advertisement - Article continues below

These certifications offer guidance to organisations and individuals, detailing the best practices for using IT within a business to help growth and transformation.

ITIL focuses on five areas: service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation and continual service improvement. ITIL is also a vital tool to help the organisation meet the requirements for ISO 20000 certification. With this standard, any IT organisation can make sure their ITSM processes match the needs of the business with international best practices.

Why should you use it?

ITIL can provide many benefits to your business. Perhaps the most immediate benefit is the commonality that a single platform of support and quality brings, making it far easier for your partners to gain an understanding of how your business functions, whether they’re local or abroad.

However, ITIL also has the ability to create a far more transparent internal help desk, making it easier for employees to obtain information, ultimately saving time and boosting productivity.

Advertisement - Article continues below
Advertisement - Article continues below

Another major benefit is the extent to which it future proofs your business. Using ITIL principles, your IT infrastructure will be able to cope far better with sudden business growth and system disruption, particularly as the helpdesk will have a central role in the process.

Who uses ITIL?

ITIL is used by many organisations across the world, both large and small, and public and private. Some notable examples include Disney, Liverpool Victoria, Müller, and the UK’s HMRC

For example, Müller made use of ITIL processes as part of an infrastructure upgrade, creating a bridge between its service desk and the rest of its IT department. The service desk’s key performance indicators (KPIs) ultimately exceeded 99% in an average week once the change was made.

At Disney, it was the executive branch that first pushed ITIL down to the rest of the business, as part of an awareness campaign to address a number of company issues. To initiate change, 250 employees were trained in ITIL Foundation, 50% of which signed up to the official ITIL certification exam.

The certification

ITIL certification has a modular approach and is made up of a series of qualifications that cover the best practices in different ways.

Advertisement - Article continues below

There are five certification levels: Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert and MaMullerster.


This entry level certification aims to give individuals a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology of the framework. It's aimed at those who need a basic understanding of the ITIL framework or who need to understand how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service management in an organisation, as well as a IT professionals who need to be informed about ITIL in their current organisation.

The one-hour exam is made up of 40 multiple choice questions and you need 26 marks out of the 40 (65% correct) in order to pass. As the name suggests, this module is the one on which the other four are built

Advertisement - Article continues below


Axelos claims that the Practitioner certification not only helps individuals speak the language of ITIL but also to "translate it and use it in practice".

This module can be taken at any stage in the ITIL certification scheme after Foundation and builds on other methodologies and frameworks, like DevOps, Agile and Lean. It also improves efficiency, productivity and collaborations between ITSM and the wider business, Axelos claims.

Advertisement - Article continues below

It covers three subjects: Organisational Change Management, Communication, and Measurements and Metrics.

The exam follows the same format as the Foundation test but needs 28 marks to pass (70% correct) and is two hours and 15 minutes long. It's also an open book exam.


This module, which you can take if you have passed the Foundation exam, has two in-depth areas of study: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

Service Lifecycle is relevant to people working in a management or team leader role where who need to work across multiple teams. The other part, Service Capability, is for those who want to get specific knowledge in one or more processes, such as operational support and analysis.

For this module, you will not be able to self-study and then take the exams, you must attend Axelos training to complete it.


This module is for candidates who have achieved a "well-rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices".

Advertisement - Article continues below

It's meant to help you advance your career in the IT service management field and you will need to pass it if you expect to take the Master level the highest level of ITIL certification.

In order to study this module, you need to have earned a minimum of 17 credits from the Foundation and Intermediate modules. You then need to take the "Managing Across the Lifecycle" module too. The pass mark for the exam in this module is 35/50 (70%) and lasts for two hours.


This final level aims to see whether you can apply the principles, methods and techniques from ITIL in the workplace.

You will have to explain and justify how you used ITIL to achieve a desired business outcome in one or more assignment. There's no prescribed training, but you must have achieved Expert level and worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels.

Featured Resources

Preparing for long-term remote working after COVID-19

Learn how to safely and securely enable your remote workforce

Download now

Cloud vs on-premise storage: What’s right for you?

Key considerations driving document storage decisions for businesses

Download now

Staying ahead of the game in the world of data

Create successful marketing campaigns by understanding your customers better

Download now

Transforming productivity

Solutions that facilitate work at full speed

Download now

Most Popular

Google Android

Over two dozen Android apps found stealing user data

7 Jul 2020

How to find RAM speed, size and type

24 Jun 2020

The road to recovery

30 Jun 2020